Connect with us


This Day In Wrestling History: December 7th

Another busy day! Diving into December 7th we have so many birthdays, so many PPV’s or special shows and so many title changes!



Jon Moxley

Another busy day! Diving into December 7th we have so many birthdays, so many PPV’s or special shows and so many title changes!

Born On This Day

  • 1930 – John Joseph Murphy (Skull Murphy)
  • 1958 – Richard Erwin Rood (Rick Rude)
  • 1964 – Curtis Hughes
  • 1965 –  Ion William Croitoru (Bruiser Bedlam)
  • 1972 – Tammy Lynn Sytch (Sunny)
  • 1973 – Kelly Warren Wolfe
  • 1985 –  Jonathan Good (Dean Ambrose/Jon Moxley)
  • 1987 – Albert Hardie (ACH)

On This Day In Wresting History

1973 – Johnny Powers & Pat Patterson come to Japan for a tour and are billed as National Wrestling Federation North American Tag Team Champions, making them the first team to hold the belts without actually winning them in a tournament or match.

1981 – Junkyard Dog defeats The Great Kabuki in New Orleans, Louisiana for the Mid-South Louisiana Heavyweight Title, beginning his third reign with the belt.

1987 – NBC taped WWF’s 14th Saturday Night’s Main Event program at the Landover Arena in Landover, Maryland

1987 – Tatsumi Fujinami & Kengo Kimura defeat Antonio Inoki & Dick Murdoch to win the New Japan Pro Wrestling’s Japan Cup Tag League in Tokyo.

1988 – The NWA held their fourth Clash Of The Champions event, subtitled “Seasons Beatings” at the UTC Arena in Chattanooga, Tennessee. It was the first major event to be presented under the WCW banner, though they were still very much affiliated with the NWA.

  • The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeated Eddie Gilbert & Ron Simmons to win the vacant NWA United States Tag Team Championship.
  • Steve Williams defeated The Italian Stallion.
  • Ivan Koloff defeated Paul Jones. Koloff had one arm tied behind his back.
  • Road Warrior Animal defeated Dusty Rhodes by disqualification to gain possession of the NWA World Six-Man Tag Team Championship. The Road Warriors dumped Rhodes and chose Genichiro Tenryu as their new partner.
  • The Four Horsemen (Barry Windham & Ric Flair) defeated The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane).
1996 – ECW presented Holiday Hell from the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It was the fourth Holiday Hell event, but the next to last in the series; the last one would take place four years later just before ECW’s closing.
  • The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & Spike) defeated Davey Pazano & Little Guido.
  • Balls Mahoney defeated Devon Storm.
  • Gary Albright defeated Rick Rage.
  • Brian Lee defeated Louie Spicolli.
  • Taz defeated Rob Van Dam.
  • The Gangstas (Mustafa & New Jack) defeated Axl Rotten and D-Von Dudley to retain the ECW World Tag Team Championship.
  • Francine and Shane Douglas defeated Beulah McGillicutty and Tommy Dreamer.
  • Sabu defeated Perry Saturn.
  • Raven defeated The Sandman in a Barbed Wire Massacre match to win the ECW World Heavyweight Championship.

1989 – Riki Choshu defeats Shinya Hashimoto to win New Japan Pro Wrestling’s World Cup Tournament in Tokyo, Japan at Sumo Hall. Choshu defeats Masahiro Chono in the semifinals, while Hashimoto defeated Steve Williams.

1990 – Terry Gordy & Steve Williams win the All Japan World Tag Team Title by winning the annual Real World Tag League tournament in Tokyo, Japan. The belts had been vacated in July when The Great Kabuki (who held the belts with Jumbo Tsuruta) jumped with Genichiro Tenryu to SWS (Super World Sports). William & Gordy defeat Stan Hansen & Danny Spivey on the final night of the tournament, winning the tournament by one point.

1992 – Leslie Belanger defeats Miss Texas in Memphis, Tennessee to win the USWA Women’s Heavyweight Title, ending Miss Texas’ fourth reign as champion.

1996 – Raven defeats The Sandman in a Barbed Wire match in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania at the ECW Arena to win the ECW World Heavyweight Title for a second time. This was the fourth no-ropes barbed wire match in ECW history (there were only five total in ECW). This would end Sandman’s fourth ECW Title reign, and it would be over four years before he would win it back.

1997 – WWF presented D-Generation X: In Your House  from the Springfield Civic Center in Springfield, Massachusetts. 6,358 were in attendance, with 159,000 homes watching on PPV. That’s up from 121,000 for the December 1996, In Your House: It’s Time. The show is noted for the finals to crown the first WWF Light Heavyweight champion of the modern era, the first appearance of Owen Hart since the infamous Montreal Screwjob, and the first singles match between Stone Cold Steve Austin and The Rock on PPV.

1999 – At a Thunder taping in Madison, Wisconsin, Bret Hart & Goldberg defeated Creative Control (Gerald & Patrick) to win the WCW World Tag Team Championship.

2007 –  WWE taped Tribute to the Troops  from Tikrit, Iraq. The show aired as a special edition of RAW on Christmas Eve.

  • Chris Jericho defeated Randy Orton by disqualification.
  • Jeff Hardy defeated Carlito.
  • Kelly Kelly & Layla versus Maria & Mickie James ended in a no contest.
  • Rey Mysterio defeated Mark Henry.
  • In a dark match, Ron Simmons defeated Hardcore Holly.
  • D-Generation X (Shawn Michaels & Triple H) defeated Mr. Kennedy & Umaga.
2006 – TNA presented Final Resolution from the Impact Zone at Universal Orlando. It’s actually the second Final Resolution that year following a decision made a few weeks earlier to move the event to December from January.

2000- At a TNA Impact taping at Universal Orlando, Jay Lethal defeated Robbie E to win the TNA X Division Championship.

2014 – AAA presented Guerra de Titanes (War of the Titans) from Auditoria Benito Juarez de Zapopan in Zapopan, Mexico.
  • Dinastia defeated Mini Charly Manson retain the AAA World Mini-Estrella Championship.
  • Sexy Star & Taya Valkyrie defeat Fabi Apache & Ivelisse.
  • Los Perros del Mal (Joe Lider & Pentagon Jr.) defeated Angelico & Jack Evans and Fenix & Myzteziz in a three-team match to win the AAA World Tag Team Championship.
  • The Psycho Circus (Monster Clown, Murder Clown, and Psycho Clown) defeated Los Hell Brothers (Averno & Chessman) in a 3-on-2 handicap match to retain the AAA World Trios Championship.
  • Aero Star defeated Super Fly in a mask versus mask match.
  • El Patron Alberto defeated El Texano Jr. to win the AAA Mega Championship. The win ended a two-year run as champion for El Texano, the longest in AAA history (the belt was introduced in 2007). Alberto, who became the first man to win both CMLL’s and AAA’s heavyweight titles, would hold the title until surprisingly re-signing with WWE in October 2015.
2014- Ring of Honor presented Final Battle from Terminal 5 in New York City.
  • In a preshow dark match, Brutal Burgers (Bob Evans & Cheeseburger) defeated BJ Whitmer & Mikey Webb.
  • Hanson defeated Caprice Coleman, Jimmy Jacobs, and Mark Briscoe in a Four Corner Survival match.
  • Roderick Strong defeated Adam Page.
  • Michael Elgin defeated Tommaso Ciampa.
  • ACH & The Young Bucks (Matt Jackson & Nick Jackson) defeated Cedric Alexander & The Addiction (Christopher Daniels & Frankie Kazarian).
  • Moose defeated RD Evans.
  • Jay Lethal defeated Matt Sydal to retain the ROH World Television Championship.
  • reDRagon (Bobby Fish & Kyle O’Reilly) defeated Time Splitters (Alex Shelley & KUSHIDA) to retain the ROH World Tag Team Championship.
  • Jay Briscoe defeated Adam Cole in a Fight Without Honor to retain the ROH World Championship.

Died On This Day

  • 1989 – William Dee Calhoun (Haystacks Calhoun)


Let us know what you think on social media @ChairshotMedia and always remember to use the hashtag #UseYourHead!

Buy A Chairshot T-Shirt!

Chairshot Radio Network